What’s a novel worth?

Last week, I sold 2 novels to a colleague at work. I was ready to accept $10 for each for a total of $20 ( for those of you who can’t multiply readily – that’s me sometimes! ). He asked me when I’d stopped asking $15. I said I felt people “may think $15 is too much for –” and I was going to say, “– an unknown author like me”; but I stopped because he said, “Who would think that? Do you think that?” I shook my head and said, “No, not really.”

“So, they’re $15, then?”

And I smiled.

He wrote me a check for $30.

Leave a Reply

