I’m Ready for You to Buy My Book

That’s what I say to an acquaintance today – “Hey _________!” I sit down beside her, touch her shoulder lightly, smile, say, “I’m ready for you to buy one of my books.”

She smiles back, says, “Do you have one with you?”

“Yes I do,” I say. “Do you have $10?”

She smiles again, pulls out two crumpled five dollar bills. She asks, “Which one should I get?”

I suggest METAL MAN WALKING. She nods.

I get the book; she gives me the ten dollars. I sign the copy and hand it over. Another woman picks it up, peruses the cover. As usual, I feel a tad guilty but I’m happy to have another reader.

2 thoughts on “I’m Ready for You to Buy My Book

Leave a Reply

