Sold A Copy of THE EIGHT-FOOT BOY

From the back of my car, I sold a copy of THE EIGHT-FOOT BOY to a person I met at a Low Country Boil. I’d sat with her mother and we talked of how we both went to college in Ohio, about our lives in this beautiful region of the world and then I mentioned that I am a novelist.

When her daughter arrived, we spoke of character development in novels, about where ideas come from and I gave her a little information about my writing process.

She expressed an interest in AFTER JEWEL. I told her I probably had a copy in my car. Later, as I was leaving, she initiated that she’d like to buy one of my novels. I said, “Well let’s see what I’ve got with me.”

In a box in my car, I showed her METAL MAN WALKING, THE ONLY THING ( which is a sequel to GANI & SEAN but I had no copy of GANI & SEAN and she’d need to read it first, so…), AFTER JEWEL ( an earlier edition ) and THE EIGHT-FOOT BOY. She expressed an interest in reading the re-write of AFTER JEWEL ( which makes sense ) and so she purchased THE EIGHT-FOOT BOY.

One of the easiest sales I’ve made.

Leave a Reply

